RENÉE FLEMING Sings Rosmonda d'Inghilterra


Sale price$21.99


CD 2001

As part of its 40th anniversary celebrations, Opera Rara proudly presents this re-release of highlights from the first complete opera recording ever made by world-famous soprano and Opera Rara Patron, Renée Fleming. One of Opera Rara s historical strengths has been its enthusiasm to discover, nurture and promote bright young singers. One of the beautiful lyric soprano voices the late Patric Schmid took under his wing belonged to American singer, Renée Fleming, who went on to become one of the most celebrated sopranos of our time. And also one of the best-selling! Rosmonda d Inghilterra was a work of Donizetti s artistic maturity, produced in between Lucrezia Borgia (Milan, 1833) and Maria Stuarda (intended for Naples in 1834, but in fact premiered in Milan in 1835), with a libretto by Felice Romani, the leading practitioner of the genre in Italy at that time. Despite the opera s rarity, its qualities as a work remain exceptional. The plot is derived from English history (suitably fictionalised) and centres on the bitter hatred of Eleanor of Aquitaine, wife of Henry II, for his mistress Rosamond Clifford, whom she eventually murders. Donizetti was able to depict the heightened emotions of the characters with particular vividness. In order to present these highlights to the best possible musical effect, Patric Schmid re-ordered them slightly from their appearance in the context of the opera. Featuring the superb cast of the original recording (including Bruce Ford, Nelly Miricioiu, Alastair Miles and Diana Montague), the disc has undergone a stunning makeover and is sure to attract the attention of opera and Fleming fans alike.

1. Volgon Tre Lune...ahi Lassa!
2. Perche Non Ho Del Vento
3. Torna, Torna Or Caro Oggetto
4. Deh! Ti Arresta!
5. Vieni Meco, Ed Un Ritiro
6. E Desso! E Il Perfido
7. E Dessa: Alfin La Perfida
8. Tace Ognun! Nessun Risponde?
9. Primiero Io Giungo
10. Si, Non Io
11. Giurato Il Sacrifizio
12. Giurasti Un Di...rammentalo
13. Concedo Un Breve Istante
14. Ma Il Tempo Vila
15. Io Fuggiro Quel Perfido
16. Senza Pace, Senza Sperme

Release Date: 10 Apr 2001

Payment & Security


Your payment information is processed securely. We do not store credit card details nor have access to your credit card information.

You may also like

Recently viewed